
Health Care Regulation and Quality Improvement 
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 465
Portland, Oregon 97232
971-673-0540
971-673-0556 (Fax)

This letter is in response to a notification of a change of ownership of the home 
health agency (HHA). The Health Care Regulation and Quality Improvement 
Section of the Oregon Health Authority is responsible for state licensure of 
HHAs, and under an agreement with the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), is also 
responsible for Medicare certification of HHAs.

Effective 12/18/09, an HHA may not undergo a change of ownership if the 
effective date of said change occurs within 36 months after: (1) the effective 
date of the provider’s enrollment in Medicare, or (2) the effective date of the last 
ownership change for the HHA. The provider must instead enroll as a new 
HHA, undergo a survey, and sign a new provider agreement.

This is a link to the Oregon Administrative Rules for HHAs:
www.healthoregon.org/hflc Owners of a HHA must ensure that the agency is in 
compliance with these state rules in order to maintain its license to operate in 
the State of Oregon.

This is a link to the Federal regulations for HHAs, called Conditions of 
Participation: http://cms.hhs.gov/manuals/Downloads/som107ap_b_hha.pdf, 
including the Interpretive Guidance. Owners of a HHA must ensure that the 
agency is operated in compliance with these regulations if they desire continued 
Medicare certification. Medicare certification enables a HHA to receive 
reimbursement with Medicare monies for services provided to Medicare 
beneficiaries.
Upon admission, the patient has the right to be advised of the availability of the 
toll-free HHA hotline in the state. Oregon's HHA toll free number is
1-800-542-5186. When the agency accepts the patient for treatment of care, the 
HHA must advise the patient in writing of the telephone number of the home 
health hotline established by the State, the hours of operation (M-F,
8:00am-5:00pm), and that the purpose of the hotline is to receive complaints or 
questions about local HHAs. The patient also has the right to use this hotline to 
lodge complaints concerning the implementation of the advanced directive 
requirements.
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Should the new owners desire continued state licensure and Medicare
certification, they must return the following forms and documents to this office:

1. Oregon State HHA License Application form, including the applicable 
licensing fee. www.healthoregon.org/hflc

2. CMS 1561
http://www.cms.hhs.gov/cmsforms/downloads/cms1561.pdf

3. HHS 690 - Assurance of Compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights 
Act (two signed original copies required) and a Civil Rights packet 
http://www.hhs.gov/forms/HHS690.pdf &
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/civilrights/resources/providers/medicare_pro
viders/formstobecompleted.html

4. CMS 1572(a) and (b) - Home Health Agency Survey and Deficiency
Report http://www.cms.hhs.gov/cmsforms/downloads/cms1572a.pdf

5. CMS 855 - Please Contact Your FI.
6. Statement of acceptance/refusal of previous owners Medicare

provider agreement and number
7. Letter of notification from both buyer and seller.

Regarding the License application form: The completion of the state HHA 
License Application form by the new owners is required to process the change 
of ownership for state licensing purposes. The licensure fee for a change of 
ownership of a HHA is $1,250.00. A new HHA license which reflects the 
change of ownership will be generated and sent to the agency. In addition, 
effective April 1, 2012 If an owner or administrator will have direct contact with 
a patient, the owner or administrator must submit background information to the 
Division, in accordance with OAR 333-027-0064 for the purposes of conducting 
a criminal records check.

The remaining forms and documents are required to process the change of 
ownership for Medicare certification purposes.

Regarding the HHS 690: Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits 
discrimination on grounds of race, color, or national origin in any program 
receiving Federal financial assistance; and age discrimination is prohibited 
under provision of the Age Discrimination Act of 1975. As stated above, 
enclosed is a Civil Rights packet, which includes forms and information 
materials. The new owners must respond, as requested, to the Office for Civil 
Rights. The form is available at https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/form-
hhs690.pdf and can be submitted by mail or at the US DHHS Assurance of 
Compliance online portal at https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/aoc/instruction.jsf.
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insurance company, which, under an agreement with CMS, reimburses health 
care facilities with federal Medicare monies. The CMS designated FI for HHAs 
in Oregon is National Government Services.

Regarding the CMS 855: Provider/Supplier Enrollment Form will need to be 
obtained from National Government Services. If you have any questions 
relative to the completion of the CMS 855 please call National Government 
Services at (866) 590-6724. Mail the CMS 855 directly to National Government 
Services and provide a copy to this office.

Regarding the statement of acceptance/refusal of the previous owner’s 
provider agreement and number: The courts have upheld CMS’s right to hold 
new owners responsible for the overpayment of the old owners based on 
regulations at 42 CFR 489.18. CMS has the right to recoup from the buyer 
even when a sales agreement specifically states that the buyer will not accept 
the liability of the seller. The enclosed chart has been prepared to outline the 
effect of accepting or not accepting the assignment of an existing Medicare 
provider agreement. Please be advised of the related risks and benefits. 
Enclose a written, signed statement which indicates whether the new 
owners will be accepting or refusing the previous owner’s provider 
agreement.

After you have obtained and/or completed all of the required documents 
and forms, return them to this office, with the exception of the original 
CMS 855, with a cover letter reflecting the change of ownership and the 
effective date.

Please identify in the letter any other applicable changes such as [change 
from a hospital based HHA to a freestanding HHA], change in 
administrator or director of professional services, etc. We will process 
the documents and forms in accordance with licensing and certification 
requirements.
Return the CMS 855 to NGS, and all other documents to this office.

Once it is determined that all requirements of Medicare and Civil Rights are met, 
you will receive written notification from CMS that the agency’s continued 
Medicare certification under the new ownership has been approved.

Those institutions and agencies, which are denied Medicare certification will be 
notified and given the reasons for the denial and information about their rights to
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appeal the decision. If operation of the agency is later transferred to another
owner, ownership group or to a lessee, this office must be notified.
Medicare certification also enables a HHA to bill the state Medicaid program for
services. If the agency receives reimbursement for services provided to
Medicaid clients, it must notify the provider enrollment department of the State
of Oregon Department of Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP) of the change
of ownership. The telephone number is 1-800-422-5047. A representative from
that office will inform the HHA of the applicable requirements and procedures
related to the change of ownership.

As long as the HHA is licensed and/or certified, subsequent, surveys will be
conducted to evaluate its continued compliance with the regulations. Please do
not hesitate to call this office at 971-673-0540 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Client Care Surveyor
CMS Representative
Oregon Health Authority
Public Health Division
Health Care Regulation and Quality Improvement

If you need this document in an alternative format, 
please call our office at 971-673-0540 or TTY 711.
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MEDICARE PROVIDER AGREEMENTS AND CHANGES OF OWNERSHIP

NEW OWNER ACCEPTS ASSIGNMENT OF PREVIOUS OWNER’S
PROVIDER AGREEMENT
Consequences: New owner is given previous owner’s provider number and
agreement. There is no break in coverage, but new owner becomes liable for
all penalties, sanctions, and liabilities imposed on or incurred by previous
owner. If, after accepting the assignment, the new owner subsequently elects
to terminate its provider agreement, it must (under the provisions of section
1866(b)(1) of the Act) file a written notice of its intention, and follow the
procedures for voluntary termination.

· The regulations specify that when there is a change of ownership, the
existing Medicare agreement is automatically assigned to the new owner
(42 CFR 489.18(c). New owners are not required to accept assignment of
the agreement but they must state their refusal in writing.

NEW OWNER REFUSES ASSIGNMENT OF PREVIOUS OWNER’S
PROVIDER AGREEMENT
Consequences: The previous owner’s provider agreement terminates on the
date the previous owner ceased doing business.

· NEW OWNER DOESN’T WANT TO PARTICIPATE IN PROGRAM
Consequences: New owner has, in effect, purchased only capital assets.
The business ceased being a Medicare provider on the last day of
business of the previous owner.

· NEW OWNER WANTS TO PARTICIPATE IN PROGRAM
Consequences: New owner will have to request to participate in the
program, undergo an initial survey, meet the participation requirements,
and be certified. There will be no Medicare coverage or payments until
the provider is certified, and no retroactive payments for the period
between the termination of the previous owner’s provider agreement and
the commencement of the new owner’s provider agreement. However,
the new owner is free of any penalties, sanctions, or liabilities imposed on
or incurred by the previous owner.
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